How To Close Facebook Account? Nowadays, everyone addicted to social networking sites and the Facebook is most popular social networking site. Social networking sites are good to connect with friends, family and other people all around the world. But, its addiction is the most common issue. Students are most addicted to social networking sites and apps like Facebook, Whatsapp, Snapchat, and Instagram etc.
Most users check their Facebook account after a few minutes. Because of this, Students do not concentrate on their studies and many people lost their concentrates in work. So, there are many reasons to close the Facebook account. It is not an issue whether you are a Student, Employee, or a businessman. If you are Facebook addicted, In some situation, you may need to close Facebook your Facebook account temporarily or permanently.
There are rare chances if someone wants to close or delete their Facebook account permanently. Because everyone uses “Deactivate” option to close the Facebook account for a few days. But, Facebook also provides an option to delete or close Facebook account permanently.
Reasons to Close Facebook account permanently
You are Facebook addicted and you want to go away from Facebook.
For some privacy reasons.
You want to create a new Facebook account and delete an old Facebook account permanently.
You don’t like Facebook and uses other social networking sites.
Though, there may be many reasons you have to close your Facebook account. You can do this easily. But, think twice before closing or deleting your Facebook account permanently. Because you cannot recover your Facebook account data after deletion. But, thanks to the Facebook to provide an option to download all Facebook data. You can download all your Facebook data before deleting your Facebook account.
There are two options to close the Facebook account.
How to Close Facebook account permanently (Delete Permanently).
How to Close Facebook account temporarily (Deactivate account for few days).
So, below are the steps to do this.
1. How To Close Facebook Account Permanently
According to Facebook, If you want to delete your Facebook account, then this process may take up to 90 days. But, when you click on the delete button to close your Facebook account, then it shows your account will be deleted within 14 days. After deleting the Facebook account, you won’t be able to reactivate your Facebook account.
So, Before deleting or closing your Facebook account, you need to download all Facebook data (Facebook Archive). Here is How To Download All Facebook Data at once. With this, you can download all data from your account like photos, videos, contact information, friend list, and messages etc. Below are the steps to close Facebook account.
After that, Click on the Delete my account button at the middle of the screen.
A pop-up window will be shown and you need to enter the password and captcha for security reasons. After that click on OK button.
After that, it shows the message “Your account has been deactivated and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request”. And click on OK button.
Now, you will be logged out from your Facebook account. Your Facebook profile will no longer to visible on Facebook. But, You still have the option to cancel the account deletion process. Just log in to your Facebook account and cancel the request for deletion.
F.A.Q About Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account
Question – Is it possible to cancel the deletion process?
Answer – Yes, you can cancel the deletion process within 14 days. To cancel the deletion process, Log in to your Facebook account and you will see the message about “Cancel deletion”. Click on the cancel deletion option to cancel this process.
Question – Can I cancel the deletion process after 14 days?
Answer – No, you cannot cancel the deletion process after 14 days. You need to create a new Facebook account.
Question – Is there any option to delete or close a Facebook account instantly?
Answer – For permanent deletion, there is no option available. You have to wait 14 days.
Question – Is there any way to download all Facebook account data (photos and videos)?
If you don’t want to delete or close your account permanently, then you can deactivate your account temporarily. When you deactivate your Facebook account, then your profile will no longer visible on Facebook. But, You can reactivate your account anytime. Below are the steps to deactivate your Facebook account and the steps are almost same for smartphone and PC. (You can deactivate your account from Facebook app, Smartphone’s browser or PC).
Open Facebook and login to your account. Go to Settings.
In General account settings, Click on Edit from Manage account option.
Scroll down and click on the Deactivate your account option. After that, Enter the password of your Facebook account for security reasons and click on the Continue button.
Choose any reason and check the mark on “Email opt-out” and click on Deactivate option. (Note: When you choose the reason, then, a message will appear. Close that message).
That’s all. You have done. To reactivate your account, log in to your account again.
On Smartphone (Facebook App)
Open Facebook app and tap on the three horizontal lines from the top right of the screen.
Scroll down and tap on Account Settings. After that Tap on General option. (Account Settings > General).
Tap on Manage Account and Tap on the Deactivate option. After that, Enter the password for security reasons.
Choose any reason and scroll down and check the mark on “Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook” and also check the mark on “Opt out of receiving messages on Messenger”. After that Tap on Deactivate button. (Note: When you select any reason, then, a message will appear. Close that message.)
That’s all. After that, you will be logged out from your Facebook account and your Facebook profile will no longer visible on Facebook. When you again log in to your account, then your account will be reactivated automatically.
F.A.Q About Deactivate Your Facebook Account
Question – How to reactivate Facebook account?
Answer – Just log in to your Facebook account, and it will reactivate automatically.
Question – When I choose the reason “This is temporary. I’ll be back.”, then it allows only 7 days to deactivate my account. How to increase these days?
Answer – Choose any other option to prevent this issue.
Question – Is it possible to deactivate the Facebook account without Messenger? (I want to use the only Messenger.)
Answer– Yes, it is possible. Don’t the check mark on “Opt out of receiving messages on Messenger” option while deactivating your Facebook account.
Difference between Delete and Deactivate Facebook Account
Delete or Close Facebook account Permanently – When you delete your Facebook account, then you won’t reactivate your account (Though, you have the option to cancel the deletion within 14 days). All your data will be deleted from Facebook servers.
Deactivate Facebook Account – Deactivate is a different option. When you deactivate your account, then, your account or profile will not visible on Facebook. But, you can reactivate your Facebook account anytime.
So, Guys, this is the guide on ‘How to close Facebook account’. Though, there are two options to close the Facebook account. You can choose according to your requirements. Think twice before Close or delete Facebook account permanently and download all your data from a Facebook account.
Although, you have 14 days to cancel the deletion process. But, if you don’t really need to delete a Facebook account, then, don’t do that. You can use the “Deactivate” option to close Facebook account temporarily.
About The Author
Web-developer | Blogger | Internet power user | Founder and the author of oTechWorld.com